Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://ahro.austin.org.au/austinjspui/handle/1/12750
Title: Renal replacement therapy in acute kidney injury: controversy and consensus.
Authors: Ronco, Claudio;Ricci, Zaccaria;De Backer, Daniel;Kellum, John A;Taccone, Fabio S;Joannidis, Michael;Pickkers, Peter;Cantaluppi, Vincenzo;Turani, Franco;Saudan, Patrick;Bellomo, Rinaldo;Joannes-Boyau, Olivier;Antonelli, Massimo;Payen, Didier;Prowle, John R;Vincent, Jean-Louis
Affiliation: Department Nephrology Dialysis & Transplantation, International Renal Research Institute (IRRIV), San Bortolo Hospital, Viale Rodolfi, 36100, Vicenza, Italy. cronco@goldnet.it.
Department of Cardiology and Cardiac Surgery, Pediatric Cardiac Intensive Care Unit, Bambino Gesù Children's Hospital, IRCCS, Piazza S. Onofrio 4, 00165, Rome, Italy. zaccaria.ricci@gmail.com.
Department of Intensive Care, Erasme Hospital, Université libre de Bruxelles, Route de Lennik 808, 1070, Brussels, Belgium. ddebacke@ulb.ac.be.
Center for Critical Care Nephrology, Department of Critical Care Medicine, University of Pittsburgh, 3550 Terrace Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15261, USA. kellumja@ccm.upmc.edu.
Department of Intensive Care, Erasme Hospital, Université libre de Bruxelles, Route de Lennik 808, 1070, Brussels, Belgium. ftaccone@ulb.ac.be.
Division of Emergency and Intensive Care Medicine, Department of Internal Medicine, Medical University of Innsbruck, Anichstraße 35, 6020, Innsbruck, Austria. michael.joannidis@i-med.ac.at.
Department of Intensive Care Medicine, Radboud University Medical Centre, PO Box 9101, 6500, HB, Nijmegen, The Netherlands. Peter.Pickkers@radboudumc.nl.
Nephrology, Dialysis and Kidney Transplantation Unit, University of Torino, Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria 'Città della Salute e della Scienza di Torino Presidio Molinette', Corso Bramante 88, 10126, Turin, Italy. vincenzo.cantaluppi@unito.it.
Department of Intensive Care, Aurelia Hospital and European Hospital, Via Portuense 694, 00416, Rome, Italy. franco.turani@fastwebnet.it.
Service of Nephrology, Department of Internal Medicine Specialties, University Hospital of Geneva, 4 rue Gabrielle Perret-Gentil, CH 1211, Geneva, Switzerland. Patrick.Saudan@hcuge.ch.
Department of Intensive Care, Austin Hospital, 145 Studley Road, Heidelberg, Melbourne, VIC, 3084, Australia. Rinaldo.BELLOMO@austin.org.au.
Centre Hospitalier Universitaire (CHU) de Bordeaux, Service d'Anesthésie-Réanimation 2, Avenue de Magellan, F-33600, Pessac, France. olivier.joannes-boyau@chu-bordeaux.fr.
Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore - Policlinico Universitario A. Gemelli, Largo Agostino Gemelli 8, 00168, Rome, Italy. m.antonelli@rm.unicatt.it.
Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care, Lariboisière Hospital, Assistance Publique-Hôpitaux de Paris, University of Paris, 7 Denis Diderot, 75475, Paris, Cedex 10, France. dpayen1234@orange.fr.
Adult Critical Care Unit, The Royal London Hospital, Barts Health, Whitechapel Road, London, E1 1BB, UK. john.prowle@bartshealth.nhs.uk.
Department of Intensive Care, Erasme Hospital, Université libre de Bruxelles, Route de Lennik 808, 1070, Brussels, Belgium. jlvincen@ulb.ac.be.
Issue Date: 6-Apr-2015
Citation: Critical Care (london, England) 2015; 19(): 146
Abstract: Renal replacement therapies (RRTs) represent a cornerstone in the management of severe acute kidney injury. This area of intensive care and nephrology has undergone significant improvement and evolution in recent years. Continuous RRTs have been a major focus of new technological and treatment strategies. RRT is being used increasingly in the intensive care unit, not only for renal indications but also for other organ-supportive strategies. Several aspects related to RRT are now well established, but others remain controversial. In this review, we review the available RRT modalities, covering technical and clinical aspects. We discuss several controversial issues, provide some practical recommendations, and where possible suggest a research agenda for the future.
Internal ID Number: 25887923
URI: http://ahro.austin.org.au/austinjspui/handle/1/12750
DOI: 10.1186/s13054-015-0850-8
URL: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25887923
Type: Journal Article
Appears in Collections:Journal articles

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
25887923.pdf587.71 kBAdobe PDFThumbnail
View/Open


Items in AHRO are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.