Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://ahro.austin.org.au/austinjspui/handle/1/12525
Title: Expert consensus and recommendations on safety criteria for active mobilization of mechanically ventilated critically ill adults.
Authors: Hodgson, Carol L;Stiller, Kathy;Needham, Dale M;Tipping, Claire J;Harrold, Megan;Baldwin, Claire E;Bradley, Scott;Berney, Susan C;Caruana, Lawrence R;Elliott, Douglas J;Green, Margot;Haines, Kimberley J;Higgins, Alisa M;Kaukonen, Kirsi-Maija;Leditschke, Isabel Anne;Nickels, Marc R;Paratz, Jennifer;Patman, Shane;Skinner, Elizabeth H;Young, Paul J;Zanni, Jennifer M;Denehy, Linda;Webb, Steven A
Affiliation: Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Research Centre (ANZIC-RC), Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Monash University, 99 Commercial Road, Melbourne, Victoria, 3004, Australia. carol.hodgson@monash.edu.
Department of Physiotherapy, Royal Adelaide Hospital, North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia, 5000, Australia. kathy.stiller@health.sa.gov.au.
Outcomes After Critical Illness & Surgery (OACIS) Group, Division of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Johns Hopkins Hospital, 600 N. Wolfe Street, Meyer 1-130, Baltimore, Maryland, 21287, USA. dale.needham@jhmi.edu.
Department of Physiotherapy, The Alfred, 55 Commercial Road, Melbourne, Victoria, 3004, Australia. c.tipping@alfred.org.au.
School of Physiotherapy & Exercise Science, Curtin University of Technology, Kent Street, Bentley, Western Australia, 6102, Australia. harroldm@hotmail.com.
School of Health Sciences, University of South Australia, City East Campus, North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia, 5001, Australia. claire.baldwin@unisa.edu.au.
Department of Physiotherapy, The Alfred, 55 Commercial Road, Melbourne, Victoria, 3004, Australia. S.Bradley@alfred.org.au.
Physiotherapy Department, Austin Hospital, 145 Studley Road, Heidelberg, Victoria, 3084, Australia. Sue.berney@austin.org.au.
The Prince Charles Hospital, 627 Rode Road, Chermside, Queensland, 4032, Australia. Lawrence.Caruana@health.qld.gov.au.
Faculty of Health, University of Technology, Sydney (UTS), 235 Jones Street, Broadway, New South Wales, 2007, Australia. doug.elliott@uts.edu.au.
Physiotherapy Department, Canberra Hospital, Yamba Drive, Garran, Australian Capital Territory, 2605, Australia. Margot.Green@act.gov.au.
Physiotherapy Department, Austin Hospital, 145 Studley Road, Heidelberg, Victoria, 3084, Australia. Kimberley.haines@svhm.org.au.
Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Research Centre (ANZIC-RC), Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Monash University, 99 Commercial Road, Melbourne, Victoria, 3004, Australia. lisa.higgins@monash.edu.
Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Research Centre (ANZIC-RC), Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Monash University, 99 Commercial Road, Melbourne, Victoria, 3004, Australia. maija.kaukonen@hus.fi.
Intensive Care Unit, Canberra Hospital, Yamba Drive, Garran, Australian Capital Territory, 2605, Australia. Anne.Leditschke@act.gov.au.
Physiotherapy Department, Princess Alexandra Hospital, 199 Ipswich Road, Woolloongabba, Queensland, 4102, Australia. marc.nickels@health.qld.gov.au.
Burns, Trauma & Critical Care Research Centre, School of Medicine, The University of Queensland, Department of Intensive Care Medicine, Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital, Herston, Queensland, 4029, Australia. j.paratz@uq.edu.au.
School of Physiotherapy, The University of Notre Dame Australia, Fremantle Campus, 19 Mouat Street, Fremantle, Western Australia, 6959, Australia. shane.patman@nd.edu.au.
Department of Physiotherapy, Western Health, Western Hospital, Gordon Street, Footscray, Victoria, 3011, Australia. elizabeth.skinner@wh.org.au.
Capital and Coast District Health Board, Intensive Care Unit, Wellington Hospital, Riddiford Street, Wellington, 6021, New Zealand. paul.young@ccdhb.org.nz.
Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Johns Hopkins Hospital, 600 N. Wolfe Street, Meyer 1-130, Baltimore, Maryland, 21287, USA. Jzanni1@jhmi.edu.
Department of Physiotherapy, Melbourne School of Health Sciences, The University of Melbourne, Parkville, Victoria, 3010, Australia. l.denehy@unimelb.edu.au.
Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Research Centre (ANZIC-RC), Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Monash University, 99 Commercial Road, Melbourne, Victoria, 3004, Australia. steve.webb@uwa.edu.au.
Issue Date: 4-Dec-2014
Citation: Critical Care (london, England) 2014; 18(6): 658
Abstract: The aim of this study was to develop consensus recommendations on safety parameters for mobilizing adult, mechanically ventilated, intensive care unit (ICU) patients.A systematic literature review was followed by a meeting of 23 multidisciplinary ICU experts to seek consensus regarding the safe mobilization of mechanically ventilated patients.Safety considerations were summarized in four categories: respiratory, cardiovascular, neurological and other. Consensus was achieved on all criteria for safe mobilization, with the exception being levels of vasoactive agents. Intubation via an endotracheal tube was not a contraindication to early mobilization and a fraction of inspired oxygen less than 0.6 with a percutaneous oxygen saturation more than 90% and a respiratory rate less than 30 breaths/minute were considered safe criteria for in- and out-of-bed mobilization if there were no other contraindications. At an international meeting, 94 multidisciplinary ICU clinicians concurred with the proposed recommendations.Consensus recommendations regarding safety criteria for mobilization of adult, mechanically ventilated patients in the ICU have the potential to guide ICU rehabilitation whilst minimizing the risk of adverse events.
Internal ID Number: 25475522
URI: http://ahro.austin.org.au/austinjspui/handle/1/12525
DOI: 10.1186/s13054-014-0658-y
URL: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25475522
Type: Journal Article
Appears in Collections:Journal articles

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
25475522.pdf3.1 MBAdobe PDFThumbnail
View/Open


Items in AHRO are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.